Bake: Poppy Seed Bundt Cake with Blueberry Glaze

Sometimes I forget that the things I love about summer – Sunshine! Swimming! Heat! – come hand in hand with one terrifying, inescapable fact: bathing suits. When you’re on the paler side (read: my brown hair is the only thing between me and being albino) like me, and love your food like me, that can be a scary thing.

I can’t do too much about the paleness (I’m looking at you, Irish grandparents). So, I guess I could diet? But really. have you tasted food? It’s the best thing ever. So, I’ve come up with this foolproof plan to keep myself in bikini shape*: instead of baking typical, icing laden and chocolate filled goodies, I’ll pick recipes that involve things like fruit and berries! I’m no doctor but I’m 99% sure that fruit cancels out the calories from all other ingredients. If you are a doctor, please don’t tell me otherwise. Just enjoy your cake.

 

So, for my friend Andrea’s birthday this weekend I whipped up a cake that fit perfectly into my ‘includes berries so has no calories” – a Poppy Seed Cake with Blueberry Glaze from Joy the Baker.

 

It turned out amazing – light, moist and delicious with a hint of sweetness and zero calories (don’t quote me on that). I highly recommend it for a summer birthday, get together or Tuesday night.

 

You can even whip up your own cheery bunting banner to give it that extra kick.

Check out the recipe on Joy’s amazing site – and take a look around while you’re there. She is hilarious and comes up with all kinds of delicious treats.

The only change I made in the recipe was substituting skim milk for buttermilk, since that’s what I had on hand. 

Poppy Seed Bundt Cake with Blueberry Glaze (from Joy the Baker)

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 2 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 Tablespoons poppy seeds

Blueberry Glaze

  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries, thawed but not drained
  • 1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons buttermilk (or regular milk is fine too)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.  Place a rack in the center of the oven.  Grease and flour a 10-inch bundt pan and set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  In another medium bowl, whisk together canola oil, buttermilk, egg, vinegar, and vanilla extract.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients all at once.  Whisk together until just combined and no lumps remain.  Stir in the poppy seeds.  Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan and bake for 35-45 minutes, or until a cake tester inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

Allow the cake to cook in the pan for 20 minutes.  Carefully run a butter knife along the edges of the cake to assure that it is well loosed before inverting the cake onto a wire rack to cool.

To make the blueberry glaze:

Mash the thawed blueberries in a medium sized bowl releasing lots of dark blue juice.  Remove most of the blueberry skins from the juice and discard.  Add the vanilla extract, buttermilk and lemon.  Add the powdered sugar and whisk to combine.  If the mixture is too thick, add more milk to reach the desired consistency.  If the mixture is too thin, add just a bit more powdered sugar.

Drizzle the glaze over the completely cooled bundt cake and allow to set for 20 minutes before serving.

Happy Baking!

-C

*totally not going to keep me in bikini shape

Leave a Reply

