Easy DIY Birthday Cake Bunting Banner // Pinterest Challenge Part 1

I’ll admit it, I’ve been won over by the bunting craze that seems to be everywhere on the blogs these days. The cheery little flags make everything a little more festive and upbeat.  

I’d been looking for an excuse to try my hand at creating some bunting banners after seeing so many beautiful and seeming simple tutorials on the blog. My chance came this weekend when I hosted a birthday party for my oldest friend, and of course provided the all-important birthday cake (a poppy seed cake with blueberry glaze, more on that in a later post!).

This beautiful bundt cake was the perfect place to add in some bunting, and after spending so much time on Pinterest for the Pinterest Challenge, I knew exactly how I was going to decorate my little cake.

I took inspiration from this pin:

Source: etsy.com via Christine on Pinterest

It seemed like a quick and easy way to gussy up my little summer celebration.

What you’ll need:

  • Scraps of paper
  • Writing tool to add the name on the flags (e.g. sharpie, stickers, stamps etc)
  • Scissors
  • Scrapbooking glue/tape
  • Twine or string to hang the flags
  • 2 Skewers  ( I used wooden ones that are meant for BBQ kebobs)

Here’s how:

  1. I went through my scrapbooking supplies and chose a bunch of scrap papers I had leftover from previous projects in a variety of colors – I chose white, pink, blue and purple
  2. I cut out one little flag by folding the scrap paper in half and free handing the size I wanted
  3. I then used this flag as a template to cut out the rest of the flags – enough to write out my friend’s name with a couple extra on either end
  4. I used my silver sharpie to write out the letters on each flag after deciding in what order I wanted them to hang. You could also use letter stickers or stamps, whatever you have on hand
  5. I cut out a length of bakers twine about double the width of the cake, so I had room to attach the flags and tie the twine to the supports
  6. I attached the flags to the twine by slipping them over and then putting a tiny spot of glue in between the two sides so they would stay put. Once they were all glued, I put a heavy book on top of them to make sure they dried flat
  7. After the glue was dry, I tied the twine to two wooden skewers and trimmed the twine before inserting the skewers on an angle in the cake so the bunting hung nicely

And you’re all done! So what do you think, is this bunting thing overdone? Does this count as a successful Pinterest Challenge? Because I also tried a second project which, I’ll be honest, did not go over exactly as planned. Stay tuned for that almost disaster learning experience shortly.

ETA: The projects are rolling out and they are amazing! I’m still in love with my little banner but have got a ton of inspiration to tackle something bigger with my next project. Check out this amazing work: Katie’s, Emily’s, Lana’s, and Sherry’s

-C

One thought on “Easy DIY Birthday Cake Bunting Banner // Pinterest Challenge Part 1

  1. Pingback: Bake: Poppy Seed Bundt Cake with Blueberry Glaze | The MTL Home

Leave a Reply

