Judging Books by Their Covers

1704875109_9b414964f5

(photo via chotda)

I think one of the most difficult things about unpacking is trying to figure out where everything should go. I want things to be where they will be the most accessible, and the most useful. I have spent a lot of time shuttling boxes between rooms trying to pick the perfect place.

I was lucky that the house came equipped with two big built-in bookshelves on either side of the fireplace. Here is a picture of it when the previous owner was still living there:

Living Room

I have a lot of books. I’m currently trying to decide on how to shelve them. I am leaning towards leaving the big school books upstairs, and organizing these shelves by color rather than alphabetically.

1797475132_00308189ec

(lovely expedit shelf via monquee)

I just love the way it looks, so clean and visually interesting. Also, I have been known to buy a book based solely on the cover, so clearly I have lots of books that would look beautiful organized this way.

What do you guys think? I am setting it up bit by bit and will take some pictures when it takes shape. I know this trend has been around for a while so maybe I am missing the boat a bit, but who cares it is my house! I can be as behind-the-times as I wanna be, right?

I am going to spend the rest of my afternoon browsing through the Rainbow of Books pool on Flickr for some more inspiration. Talk soon!

-C

2 thoughts on “Judging Books by Their Covers

  1. Interview Request

    Hello Dear and Respected,
    I hope you are fine and carrying on the great work you have been doing for the Internet surfers. I am Ghazala Khan from The Pakistani Spectator (TPS), We at TPS throw a candid look on everything happening in and for Pakistan in the world. We are trying to contribute our humble share in the webosphere. Our aim is to foster peace, progress and harmony with passion.

    We at TPS are carrying out a new series of interviews with the notable passionate bloggers, writers, and webmasters. In that regard, we would like to interview you, if you don’t mind. Please send us your approval for your interview at my email address “ghazala.khi at gmail.com”, so that I could send you the Interview questions. We would be extremely grateful.

    regards.

    Ghazala Khan
    The Pakistani Spectator
    http://www.pakspectator.com

  2. Hi – I found your blog through Pioneer Woman (my comment is near yours – somewhere around #5000). I’m never going to win anything. Anyway, this reminded me of this person’s blog http://beachbungalow8.blogspot.com/search/label/bookshelves
    She’s in Manhattan Beach, Ca. – I love her taste.

    I’m dying for some bookshelves – I have just the spot – I’m not really into the color look though – I’m looking forward to mixing books up with some of my collection of vintage pottery.

Leave a Reply

