Etsy Friday’s – Moving Announcements

I can’t believe Friday is here already. I am trying to quell the panic about the move by browsing through Etsy. I am thinking about sending out a moving announcement, maybe to coincide with an invite to our housewarming party. Although at this rate the party won’t be held until June 2012, but a girl can dream. I do a little bit of designing in my spare time (check out my etsy store, sadly neglected these days but due for an update soon) and I am searching for inspiration. Here are some of my favorites, pulled from the talented sellers on Etsy. I think I may just end up ordering one of these, they are so beautiful! I wish I could afford them all.

il_430xN.62168172

We’re Moving Postcards by productsuperior (16$ for 8, 2$ each)

Oh letterpress. How I love thee. These cards are so cool, and have a nice masculine touch to counteract all the prints I keep buying for our house that involve the word love in some capacity. Sean would appreciate it, I am sure. It also contains my other fetish, text as graphics! Oh, text. And letterpress. All I need in my life.

il_430xN.65236295

Moving Announcements by greencard (40$ for 25, 1.60$ each)

Even more text! Even though this isn’t letterpress, it still does something for me. I like the humour in it, and it sounds very much like the emails I send out to my friends a million times a day. I like the idea of having something funny to send out. Plus I love the yellow envelopes with the simple white paper. Yellow is my new current thing, I got an amazing pillow at Target which I can’t wait to put up in my bedroom. Tangent, sorry. I really do love these announcements but I would need to think about what I would want to say that would fit our situation, and we all know how un-funny I can be when I am trying (see: this blog).

il_430xN.71319870il_430xN.71319871

We’ve Moved Postcards by Ruff House Art (15$ for 12, 1.25$ each)

These postcards pretty much sum up my life right now. Boxes. Lots and lots of moving boxes. They just seem so appropriate (and the most economical). They also have that green/recycled vibe going on which we love so much. I think they are pretty creative and would stand out in the mail. However, I can picture my mother calling to ask why I left the tape on the postcard.

il_430xN.69503860

We’ve Moved Car Cards by Colorbutton(17$ for 12, 1.42$ each)

I love the car graphic on these cards. I also love the grey and yellow color combo. They are pretty affordable and come in any color you would like. I love these, but I am not sure if they really sit our style. But I think they would be great for lots of other movers out there!

il_430xN.61937621

Change of Address Photo Cards by b.originals (35$ for 25, 1.40$ each)

And now for something completely different – a photo card. This looks a little “save the date”-ish for me, but I still love it. I have a really cute picture of us from the beach that would be perfect for something like this. I just don’t know if it is a bit too much for the purposes of our move. What do you think?

I am going to keep trying to design something myself, but these options are just so amazing that I may end up ordering one..or two…if we can find space in the budget. What do you guys think? Is this a waste of money, or a nice way to welcome friends to our new house?

Hope you all get some sun this weekend. I will be trapped in a house of boxes and packing tape.

-C

Leave a Reply

