The Office

Today I did a lot of blog reading, and I am feeling might inadequate with my writing skills right now. I went through the archives of a couple of amazing blogs that actually made me experience strong emotions – I had to hold back from laughing out loud in my office, and I teared up more than once and did the wide-eyed no-blink look-at-the-ceiling thing for a while.

First, thanks to a recommendation from Google reader (who apparently knows me very well), I ended up at …and hijinx ensued. The blog is written by Princess Pointful, and I may be the last one to realize this, but she is amazing. Seriously, such a talented and expressive writer. It was very intimidating, but in a good way. I also enjoyed the Canadiana references (wooooot Neo Citron!!) and the grad school rants, I can relate to that. And I am only doing my master’s – PHD is a far way off for this girl.

Second, I started reading Mindy Kaling’s blog things I bought that I loved. She is better known in our house as Kelly Kapoor, from The Office. I didn’t know she was also  a writer and producer, but it just makes me love her even more. AND she is HILARIOUS. Like, really really hilarious.  Although she is understandably busy and doesn’t update a whole lot, the archives were well worth a look.

So that had me thinking about MY office (sorry for the bad segue- please don’t compare me to these ladies) and what the heck I am going to do with it once we move in. I am drawing a complete blank here. Seriously, it will probably end up being white. Not that that isn’t totally cool when it is well executed, but I don’t know if I have the talent to pull it off.

Here is a crappy picture of the current space

second-bedroom

The current owner is using it as an office also, minus the clothes strewn everywhere in this picture. The closet in the office is the access to the attic, so our building inspector had pulled all the clothes out so he could go up (only to discover potentially asbestos-filled insulation). I was too busy having a panic attack about the insulation that I didn’t put a lot of thought into taking good pictures of the space. I know the yellow has to go. The shades are staying, the are nice Ikea Isdans in pretty good shape, and neutral enough to work with whatever we want to do. Also, they are free, so score!!

I like the idea of all white, but I am worried that it might be too much because of the shape of the room. Would we lose the architectural lines? It was one of the first things I loved about this house. I was thinking maybe Kelly Green also, or carrying the grey in here from the master bedroom across the hall. I am in need of some inspiration. Nothing is jumping out at me! I guess I will just go back to reading blogs and feeling bad about lack of hyperbole.

-C

One thought on “The Office

Leave a Reply

